August 19, 2013

  •  

    So tonight Eldest Daughter and Beloved Son in Law got a whole lot of books ready for shipping tomorrow.  I wanted to help.  I wanted to write the addresses.  I wanted to rejoice over every single order.  I wanted to laugh and exclaim and do all sorts of celebrating.

    But I couldn’t.

    163

    I was too busy immersing my left hand into a two gallon pitcher of ice water.

    162

    You see, on this gloriously happy day, I steamed more than grapes.

    165

    My trusty steamer betrayed me and sprayed scalding juice on my left hand, seriously burning my index finger.
    (There are actually other blisters that aren’t visible here.  This is the impressive one.)

    It’s been really painful, but it is now almost five hours later and I think I just might live.

    The laundry is done, but my kitchen is a disaster.

    164

    (It looks pretty bad, I know, but it would look even worse if it weren’t for the faithful ministrations of Eldest Daughter who took care of seriously necessary things and helped in a dozen integral ways (I love you, Christina!) and Beloved Son in Law who helped fill some of the jars with juice when I couldn’t think straight for the pain.  Besides, If I just go in there and close some cupboard doors and load the dishwasher and put some pans in to soak, it will look even more better!  

    Tomorrow is another day.  I have so much to be grateful for tonight.  I have my van back and it is beautiful and it is running.  Youngest Daughter made her trip to Cedarville, Ohio with many delays but no accident, though she saw such along the way.  The washer and dryer worked faithfully and well, and the laundry is pretty much done except for folding towels — which Middle Daughter always does for me.

    And so, even though I can scarcely bend this finger, and even though I may have trouble getting to sleep tonight, I will count my blessings and smile when I try to sleep, and pray when I can’t.

    I love you all out there who have come, called, e-mailed and messaged me to get a copy of the book on this first marketing day.  It really, really surprises me — and humbles me, and makes me glad that I listened to Beloved Son in Law and ordered more than a hundred for our first run.  I Love you, Jesse.  THANKS.

    And Lord Jesus, Master of the Wind, Maker of the Waves, and Blessed Controller of All Things, I love you, too. My heart gives grateful praise.

     

     

     

Comments (4)

  • That looks so painful! Praying it heals without trouble, too much more pain, and most of all quickly!

  • Oh, that looks painful.

  • wow! That is a very impressive blister. I bet that hurt like crazy. I hope it’s feeling a bit better today.

  • Oh, my. That looks sooo painful. I trust it is healing okay – it’s been several days now. Can’t wait for your book! Am looking forward to receiving it. :)

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *