February 3, 2013

  • Gluten Free Unleavened bread

    Today was the “in between” communion at our little country church.  On these days, we share the bread and wine (well, home canned grape juice, for real!).  I have been experimenting with gluten free communion bread recipes, both composition and method, for a number of years, and I truly believe that I have one that I will be using for some time.  And since I have been asked recently for the recipe, I decided to post it.

    1 cup Gluten-free All Purpose Baking Flour  (I use Bob’s Red Mill brand)

    2 Tbsp. Sugar

    1/4 tsp. Salt

    1/3 cup soft Butter

    3 Tbsp. evaporated milk

    I mix the dry ingredients, cut in the soft butter until crumbly, then sprinkle and mix in the milk (like for a pie crust) and then press it into a ball.

    Now here is something I just learned this morning that made things MUCH easier.  I put the ball of dough into a Ziploc quart size freezer bag, zipped it shut and used my rolling pin to fill it completely and to a uniform thickness.  It made this perfect rectangle of the exact right thickness.  Then I carefully opened and cut away the one side of the plastic bag and put the dough onto a flat, thin cookie sheet.  Then, just a carefully, I removed the rest of the plastic bag and then cut the square into narrow strips and fork pierced the strips where I wanted the elders to break it.  I usually have a small strip all the way around that is discard (Or eaten by house members as soon as it is cool enough to handle) and then the rest of the strips are a generous inch wide.  I put the fork pricks this morning every inch, and that looked nice, but I believe that it would be better to have the fork pricks closer together — maybe more like a half an inch apart because it is easier to chew if the piece isn’t quite so large.  If you make it with the ziploc bag, you have five strips one way (with a little strip on either side) and can easily get about ten bite size pieces per strip. There are always people waiting in line to eat the left overs after the service, so I try to be sure to have extra, but if you have 40 or less congregants, I would think one batch would be almost enough

    Bake at 375 for about 12 minutes if you are using a shiny, flat pan.  Be especially watchful of the bottom of the bread.  It browns really quickly, and for some reason, I am just not very enthused about burnt (or even overly brown) communion bread.

    But even when I am sure the bread is a dismal failure, I have always been extended grace by my brothers and sisters who worship at the church at the corner of Carpenter Bridge and Canterbury Roads.  They eat it gladly in the spirit of being a part of The Family.

    And I give grateful praise that I can be one of those parts.

     

Comments (5)

  • how nice of you. I never heard of wheat allergies years ago so I guess more people need this kind of thing these days.

  • This is great stuff–very detailed. I will save this recipe for the future! Wish I could use this at our church–instead, ours is served mixed (gluten bread with GF bread sitting in the middle) and there are serious contamination issues. So my son and I drink but don’t eat.

  • In the past, I’ve taken the bread in ignorance of its role in my illness. Then I took it because I was taught it was a point of faith that communion could not cause illness and that my faith would assure healing, if the faith was great enough. Then I learned that healing is in God’s hands and not mine, and risked censure, and loneliness, in not taking the bread. Now I can fearlessly take part with the rest of the family; and because of your diligent efforts in making the GF version delicious, the rest of the family is not offended, but rather has the chance to sense the commendation of their inclusiveness. Many thanks over and over again from one who no longer fears to take communion.

  • I have never, ever tasted any that wasn’t delicious. And judging by the way the bread disappears afterward, I’m guessing no one else has a problem either. Saving this recipe. I was so sorry I could be there yesterday. But while I’m sure you all would have liked to have me, I know you didn’t want me to bring my cold/flu bugs. And they wouldn’t let me come without them. So I stayed home with them. Looking forward to getting back.

  • I really wana thank you for providing such informative and qualitative material so often.
    vegetarian recipes

Post a Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *